//
you're reading
Life with Food

Oreo Delight Ice Cream Sandwiches

Can you tell we have been eating a lot?  We love how food can bring people together, break awkward barriers down, and create good conversation around the table.  This is most frequently played out at Missional Community every Wednesday evening, but also happens in the every day as Aaron and I strive to build relationships with neighbors, co-workers, hair stylists, wonderful people from our MC and beyond.

It’s no secret I love ice cream, especially combining different textures and flavors into one happy dish.  I was searching for something new to make for our turn at bat bringing dessert to MC, so I emailed a good friend of mine, Michelle for a recipe I knew she had made before.  She sent me a recipe for a great ice cream dessert that was so simple and wonderful! …and then I went and made it all complicated and hard.  Ha.  Call me crazy, but I love to do that!  As my knowledge and skill in the kitchen grows, I love to tweak, mix-up, or completely through recipes out the window in my quest for a twist on a good recipe.

I found myself throwing the recipe right out the window in search of adding a good crunch to this concept.  I combined several different concepts or ingredients to create what I’m about to share;  it turned out BEAUTIFULLY!  As a bonus for you this evening: I even grabbed a photo of it before the sun went down.  Win/win!

Here’s a little something I like to call: Oreo Delight Ice Cream Sandwiches.

Ingredients:
1 package Oreos
1/2 gallon vanilla ice cream
1 medium cool whip container
1/2 cup butter
1/2 jar of dry-roasted peanuts, roughly chopped
For the sauce, I used my favorite chocolate fondue recipe found on the Food Network’s website by one of our favorite chefs, Tyler Florence. This is one recipe I don’t deviate from at all, other than the prep steps.  I melt everything together on the cook-top because I can control the heat better than I can with our fondue pot.

Preparations:
Line a 9×13 pan with parchment paper.  Reserve about 8 Oreos for later garnish and crush the rest of the pack of Oreos in a medium bowl.  Pour melted butter over crushed Oreos and press into lined 9×13 pan.  Place the pan in the freezer for 30 minutes to harden.

Peel down all sides of the half-gallon of ice cream container and cut into evenly sliced pieces, about 1/2″ wide.  Layer slices on top of the Oreo crust, cutting and fitting pieces until the whole pan is covered.  Add the chocolate sauce, then add the nuts.

Top with cool whip and garnish with rough chopped Oreo pieces to finish.  Freeze for several hours before serving.  To serve, pick up the 4 corners of the parchment paper and lift to the counter.  Slice and serve.

Tips:

  1. To crush the Oreos, I used my pastry cutter.  Or use a fork, food processor, whatever fits your fancy to achieve the desired texture for the crust.
  2. Almost all of these proportions can be tweaked for a different calorie count or texture.  There really isn’t a whole lot of right and wrong with something this great.
  3. To follow-up with the last point, substitute different toppings to suit your taste!  I want to use coffee ice cream and heath bars next time, oh and then M&Ms after that, so you can see the options are endless!
Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

